Waiting On Wednesday #9 // Timekeeper + Carve the Mark

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Breaking The Spine where we share upcoming releases that we are excited about! Hey everyone, I’m back to share two upcoming YA stories that are sure to be a MAJOR hit, and something I will surely love and cherish!

25054848

Publishing Date: January 17th, 2017

SUMMARY: On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not — their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuve, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive — no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive — or to destroy one another.

 

25760792

Publishing Date: November 1st, 2016

SUMMARY: Two o’clock was missing. 
In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

Why I’m Waiting… 

Although Veronica Roth’s newest isn’t due till the start of the new year, I remember the day I heard about it and that was at YALLWest’s debut, last year. I was super excited and I remembered knowing so vaguely about this but I couldn’t be more excited. I loved Roth’s Divergent trilogy and i’m a bit of a black sheep … I actually really liked the ending. It was a heartbreaking closing and made me feel all the feels. But Carve the Mark sounds really interesting and fresh in the Sci-fi genre. And in my opinion, it sounds faintly like Romeo & Juliet catapulted into a Game of Thrones-esque Star Wars world!

Tara Sim’s debut, Timekeeper, sounds even better than the last each time Tara posts something on Twitter about Timekeeper, I just get so excited. My excitement and feelings toward this book can only be fully encompassed through gif form:

i6zyjsruy0s4m

And I mean talk about both of these covers! MUCH cover love to these upcoming titles!

Have you heard of these two upcoming novels? What are you waiting on this week?

ANDREW

 

11 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #9 // Timekeeper + Carve the Mark

  1. carlisajc says:

    Carve the Mark actually sounds awesome! I wasn’t a fan of the Divergent series, but I’m always looking for new, unique stories like this. And the cover is BEAUTIFUL.

  2. ccovertocover says:

    I actually hadn’t heard of either of these books before your post, so I’m glad you shared these with us! I feel like I should have known about Carve the Mark at least, being that it’s by Veronica Roth, but it was completely out of my radar. I vaguely remember reading a post about Roth’s future books in an Epic Reads post or something similar…😂

    And you want to YALLWest?! That sounds awesome! I’ve never been to a book signing/event before, but I’m hoping to sometime in the future (maybe next school year…?) Hope you enjoy these books!

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    • Endlessly Reading says:

      So glad that you found these two upcoming titles because of me, ahahha! Yes, I vaguely remember reading an article about the announcement of Carve the Mark -then it was a comparison to Star Wars and I couldn’t stop freaking out!!

      And yes, YALLWest was even better the second time around! Oh, I really hope you can get to a book signing and or event soon, they’re really fun and interactive. It’s awesome to meet other blogger friends as well!

  3. elimadison2019 says:

    Hey Andrew! Glad #commenting365 brought me to your blog tonight 😀 I’m not as excited for Carve the Mark as you are because I got a copy of the preview at BEA and it wasn’t great, but it’s definitely got my interest. I’d love to see how Roth’s doing and how she’ll handle being in a world that’s not Divergent. I’ve also been hearing a lot about Timekeeper, and it’s making me want to look into it! I don’t think I’ve read anything by Tara Sim yet, but people say that she’s a great writer, so I guess I’ll have to check her out sooner or later. As for me, this week I’m waiting on A.G. Howard’s Roseblood. I keep on meaning to start it, and I’ve gotten a few pages in, but I think it’ll take a while for it to pick up 😦 still got high hopes for it though! We’ll see. 🙂

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

Leave a Reply

